Yurodny Ensemble



A recipient of the Arts Council of Ireland Commissions Award 2011 and also supported by Culture Ireland, the Yurodny / Hezarfen Project was the product of a two-year collaboration with Turkey's leading new music ensemble - Hezarfen, co-led by composer Michael Ellison and violist Ulrich Mertin.

The concert at the Akbank Jazz Festival 2012 featured the world premières of two major new works composed by Kamran Ince and Ed Bennett performed by the combined Yurodny - Hezarfen ensemble with improvising soloists.

The individual ensembles also performed world premières of two new works by composers Onur Türkmen and Adrian Hart based on musical traditions from Ireland and Turkey that explored electronic interfaces, extended techniques and the contemporary interpretation of these traditions.


Özcan Ulucan – violin

Adrian Hart – violin, electronics

Ellen Jewett – violin

Cora Venus Lunny – violin, viola

Ulrich Mertin – viola

Kate Ellis – cello

Erman Imayhan – cello

Nick Roth – soprano, alto and baritone saxophones

Colm O’Hara – trombone

Müge Hendekli – piano

Amy Salsgiver - percussion