Yurodny Ensemble

Don Giovanni


Don Giovanni was commissioned by the Lismore Music Festival and directed by Dieter Kaegi, with its première in the grounds of Lismore Castle in June 2011.

The Yurodny arrangement of the great opera by Wolgang Amadeus Mozart was a reduction for voices, octet and electronics. The electronic component of the score explored granular synthesis techniques using source material from the instrumental ensemble and was thematically linked to the supernatural or otherworldly elements of the libretto.


Director Dieter Kaegi

Andrew Ashwin - Don Giovanni
John Molloy - Leporello
Anthony Kearns - Don Ottavio
Cara O’Sullivan - Donna Anna
Fiona Murphy - Donna Elvira
Mary O’Sullivan - Zerlina
Gerard O’Connor - Commendatore
Gavan Ring - Masseto

Cora Venus Lunny - violin
Adrian Hart - violin, electronics
Larissa O'Grady - viola
Kate Ellis - cello
Fiona Kelly - flute
Nick Roth - soprano saxophone
Colm O'Hara - trombone
David Adams - harpsichord